People Directory


FACULTY
George R. Blumenthal george@ucolick.org 831-459-4291 Kerr Hall Chancellor
Michael J. Bolte bolte@ucolick.org 831-459-2384 ISB 333
Jean P. Brodie brodie@ucolick.org 831-459-2987 ISB 281
Ryan Foley foley@ucsc.edu 831-459-2835 ISB 345
Jonathan Fortney jfortney@ucsc.edu 831-459-1312 CfAO 205  Director, OWL
Puragra (Raja) GuhaThakurta raja@ucolick.org 831-459-5169 ISB 271
Garth Illingworth gdi@ucolick.org 831-459-2843 ISB 267
Alexie Leauthaud alexie@ucsc.edu 831-502-2319 CfAO 113
Douglas N.C. Lin lin@ucolick.org 831-459-2732 ISB 337
Piero Madau pmadau@ucolick.org 831-459-3839 CfAO 103 Director, NEXSI
Claire Max max@ucolick.org 831-459-2991 ISB 375 Director, UC Observatories
Ruth Murray-Clay rmc@ucsc.edu 831-459-2844 CfAO 201
J. Xavier Prochaska xavier@ucolick.org 831-459-2135 ISB 359
Enrico Ramirez-Ruiz enrico@ucolick.org 831-459-3400 ISB 341 Department Chair, Director of TASC
Brant Robertson brant@ucsc.edu 831-459-4903 ISB 335
Constance Rockosi crockosi@ucolick.org 831-459-5246 ISB 261
Andy Skemer askemer@ucsc.edu 831-459-5753 CfAO 107
Graeme H. Smith graeme@ucolick.org 831-459-2907 ISB 135
top
EMERITUS FACULTY
Peter H. Bodenheimer peter@ucolick.org 831-459-2064 CfAO 109
Frank Drake fdrake@ucolick.org 650-961-6633 SETI Institute
Harland W. Epps epps@ucolick.org 831-459-3454 Nat Sci II 191
Sandra Faber faber@ucolick.org 831-459-2944 CfAO 101
John Faulkner johnf@astro.ucsc.edu 831-459-3559 Thimann 331
Burt Jones jones@ucolick.org
David C. Koo koo@ucolick.org 831-459-2130 ISB 263
Bruce H. Margon margon@ucsc.edu 831-459-1596 Nat Sci II 171
William G. Mathews mathews@ucolick.org 831-459-2074 Thimann 333
Joseph S. Miller miller@ucolick.org 831-459-3670 Eng Lab
Jerry Nelson jnelson@ucolick.org 831-459-5132 CfAO 215
Lloyd Robinson lloyd@ucolick.org
Merle Walker Thimann 331
Stanford E. Woosley woosley@ucolick.org 831-459-2976 ISB 259
Steven S. Vogt vogt@ucolick.org 831-459-2151 ISB 343
top
LECTURERS
Martin Gaskell mgaskell@ucsc.edu 831-459-5078 Thimann 325
top
AFFILIATED FACULTY
Anthony Aguirre aguirre@scipp.ucsc.edu 831-459-2249 ISB 325 Physics
Nic Brummell brummell@ams.ucsc.edu 831- 459-2122 Baskin 125 Applied Math
Pascale Garaud pgaraud@soe.ucsc.edu 831-459-1055 Baskin 131 Applied Math
Ian Garrick-Bethell igarrick@ucsc.edu 831-459-1277 EMS A137 Earth and Planetary Sciences
Gary Glatzmaier glatz@es.ucsc.edu 831-459-5504 EMS A102 Earth and Planetary Sciences
Tesla Jeltema tesla@ucsc.edu 831-459-2235 ISB 305 Physics
Dongwook Lee dlee79@ucsc.edu 831-502-7708 Baskin Engineering 353C Applied Math
Francis Nimmo fnimmo@es.ucsc.edu 831-459-1783 EMS A219 Earth and Planetary Sciences
Joel Primack joel@ucsc.edu 831-459-2580 ISB 318 Physics
Stefano Profumo profumo@scipp.ucsc.edu 831-459-3039 ISB 325 Physics
Steven Ritz ritz@scipp.ucsc.edu 831-459-3018 Nat Sci II 331 Director, SCIPP
David Smith dsmith@scipp.ucsc.edu 831-459-2183 Nat Sci II 321 Physics
top
RESEARCHERS
Kevin Bundy kbundy@ucsc.edu 831-459-3539 ISB 361
Shawfeng Dong dong@ucolick.org 831-459-2725 ISB 331
Donald Gavel gavel@ucolick.org 831-459-5464 CfAO 209 Director, LAO
Martin Gaskell mgaskell@ucsc.edu

831-459-5078

Thimann 325
Robert Hanson hanson@ucolick.org 831-459-2755 NSII 175
Bradford Holden holden@ucolick.org 831-459-3387 ISB 115
Ben Johnson bjohnso6@ucsc.edu ISB 349
Arnold Klemola klemola@ucolick.org 831-459-4049 Nat Sci II 183
Robert Kibrick kibrick@ucolick.org 831-459-2262 Nat Sci II 160
Renate Kupke rkupke@ucolick.org 831-459-5804 Thimann 111B
Fengshan Liu fengshan@ucolick.org 831-502-7085 ISB 119 Visiting Researcher
Bruce Macintosh bmac@ucolick.org 831-459-5801 Thimann 111E
Terry Mast mast@ucolick.org CfAO 207
Drew Phillips phillips@ucolick.org 831-459-2476 ISB 121
Aaron Romanowsky romanow@ucolick.org 831-459-3281 ISB 123
Elisa Toloba toloba@ucolick.org 831-459-3809 ISB 111 Visiting Researcher
Mingzhi Wei wmz@ucolick.org 831-459-4911 Nat Sci II 160
top
POSTDOCTORAL FELLOWS
Aldo Batta abattama@ucsc.edu 831-459-2526 ISB 349
Zheng Cai zcai@ucolick.org 831-459-5853 ISB 367
Ian Crossfield ianc@ucsc.edu CfAO 203
Yicheng Guo ycguo@ucolick.org 831-459-3771

ISB 273

Rebekah Hounsell rhounsel@ucsc.edu 443-931-7084
Charlie Kilpatrick cdkilpat@ucsc.edu 831-459-5098 ISB 363
Ignacio Martin-Navarro imartinn@ucsc.edu

ISB 291

Gabriela Montes gmontes@ucsc.edu 831-459-2526 ISB 349
Naor Movshovitz nmovshov@ucsc.edu 831-502-7085 ISB 119
Marcel Neeleman marcel@ucsc.edu 831-459-5853 ISB 367
Yen-Chen Pan ypan6@ucsc.edu ISB 111
Tyler Robinson tydrobin@ucsc.edu 831-502-7085 ISB 119
Josiah Schwab jwschwab@ucsc.edu 831-459-3809 ISB 363
top
ASTRONOMY & ASTROPHYSICS  ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF
Jenna Scarpelli jscar@ucsc.edu 831-459-3581 ISB 287 Department Manager
OPEN ISB 269 Graduate Student Advisor
Amy Radovan aradovan@ucsc.edu 831-459-3081 ISB 269 Department Assistant

top

GRADUATE STUDENTS
Zackery Briesemeister zbriesem@ucsc.edu 831-459-5722 ISB 255
David Coulter dcoulter@ucsc.edu 831-459-4485 ISB 355
Sara Crandall sacranda@ucsc.edu 831-459-4485 ISB 355
Emily Cunningham eccunnin@ucsc.edu 831-459-2774 ISB 159
Kat Feng yfeng14@ucsc.edu 831-459-3979 ISB 133
Renata Frelikh rfrelikh@ucsc.edu 831-459-3804 ISB 127
Eric Gentry egentry@ucsc.edu ISB 255
Tiffany Hsyu thsyu@ucsc.edu   ISB 255
Zachary Jennings zgjennin@ucsc.edu 831-459-1973 ISB 201
Platon Karpov plkarpov@ucsc.edu 831-459-5722 ISB 255
Molly Kosiarek mkosiare@ucsc.edu ISB 293
Marie Lau wlau10@ucsc.edu 831-459-2774 ISB 159
Jamie Law-Smith jlawsmit@ucsc.edu 831-459-4485 ISB 355
Camille Leibler cleibler@ucsc.edu ISB 131
Phillilp Macias pmacias@ucsc.edu 831-459-2774 ISB 159
Christopher Mankovich cmankovi@ucsc.edu 831-459-2774 ISB 159
Brittany Miles bmiles@ucsc.edu 831-459-5722 ISB 255
Brenna Mockler bmockler@ucsc.edu 831-459-4485 ISB 355
Ariadna Murguia Berthier armurgui@ucsc.edu 831-459-4485 ISB 355
Grecco Oyarzun goyarzun@ucsc.edu 831-459-4485 ISB 355
Viraj Pandya viraj.pandya@ucsc.edu 831-459-5722 ISB 255

Diana Powell

dkpowell@ucsc.edu 831-459-4485 ISB 355
Anna Rosen alrosen@ucsc.edu 831 459-3979 ISB 133
Mickey Rosenthal mmrosent@ucsc.edu 831-459-1973 ISB 201
Namrata Roy naroy@ucsc.edu 831-459-5722 ISB 255
Alex Rudy arrudy@ucsc.edu
Matthew Siebert msiebert@ucsc.edu

Marijana Smailagic

msmailag@ucsc.edu ISB 293
Srikar Srinath ssrinath@ucsc.edu NS II 185
Tyler Takaro tktakaro@ucsc.edu
Bruno Villasenor brvillas@ucsc.edu ISB 355
Alexa Villaume avillaum@ucsc.edu 831-459-4485 ISB 355
Asher Wasserman adwasser@ucsc.edu ISB 293

ISEE   
Institute for Science & Engineer Educators
Lisa Hunter lhunter@ucsc.edu 831-459-2416 CfAO 213 Director
UCO ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF
Graseilah Coolidge gcoolidge@ucolick.org 831-459-2991 ISB 375 Executive Assistant to the Director
Lisa Ellis lisa@ucolick.org 831-459-5165 ISB 154 Financial Services, Contracts & Grants
Anna Korossy akorossy@ucolick.org 831-459-5044 ISB 387 Asst Director of Business Svcs - UCO
Betsy Lee betsy@ucolick.org 831-459-4756 ISB 390 Business Services, FoLO Coordinator
Gill Lucier gill@ucolick.org 831-459-4614 ISB 390 Financial Services
Leah Martin lmartin@ucolick.org 831-459-5164 ISB 393 Financial Services
Camille Martinez camille@ucolick.org 831-459-2772 ISB 390 Business Services
Ilse Ungeheuer iungeheuer@ucolick.org 831-459-2201 ISB 376 Communications Specialist - UCO
top
COMPUTER & PROGRAMMING
Steven Allen sla@ucolick.org 831-459-3046 NatSci II 165
Will Deich will@ucolick.org 831-459-3913 NatSci II 163 Scientific Progamming/IT Mgr
Daniel Magee magee@ucolick.org 831-459-5276 ISB 369
Rion Parsons rparsons@ucolick.org 831-459-4020 NatSci II 179 Systems Administrator
top

LAB & Engineering Staff

Jerry Cabak cabak@ucolick.org 831-459-5892 Eng Lab
David Cowley cowley@ucolick.org 831-459-2475 Eng Lab Technical Facilities & Project Mgr
Daren Dillon dillon@ucolick.org 831-459-1257 Thimann 105D
Brian Dupraw dupraw@ucolick.org 831-459-2841 Opt Lab
David Hilyard hilyard@ucolick.org 831-459-3269 Opt Lab
Matthew Radovan mvr@ucolick.org 831-459-2557

Nat Sci II 169

Chris Ratliff cratliff@ucolick.org 831-459-1502 Eng Lab
Dale Sandford sandford@ucolick.org 831-459-2139 Nat Sci II 159
James Ward jward@ucolick.org 831-459-2624 Instr Lab
top
GENERAL NUMBERS
Astronomy Department Office dept@astro.ucsc.edu 831-459-2844 ISB 211
Astronomy Department Fax 831 426-3115 ISB 260
Astronomy/UCO Lick Mail Room Fax 831 426-3115 ISB 260
Center for Adaptive Optics 831-459-2844 CfAO 201
ISB 102 Conference Room 831-459-3658 ISB 102
LAO Lab 831-459-5281 Thimann 185/191
Lick Observatory Administration Office 408-238-9619    Mt. Hamilton, CA
Lick Observatory Fax 408-238-0757 Mt. Hamilton, CA
UCO/Lick Business Office 831-459-2513 ISB 390
UCO/Lick Director's Office 831-459-2991 ISB 375
UCO/Lick Director's Office Fax 831-459-5244 ISB 375
UCO/Lick Mailroom Fax 831 426-3115 ISB 260
top
VISITORS & OTHER
Visitors Office Calendar Link
Main Visitors Office 831-459-4903 ISB 335
top
LICK OBSERVATORY STAFF
Sean Carter semcarte@ucsc.edu 408-238-4273 Building Maintenance Worker
Kostas Chloros kostas@ucolick.org 408-238-9613 Observatory Superintendent
Wayne Earthman wayne@ucolick.org 408-238-0652    Telescope Operations
Rocky Francisco rsfranci@ucsc.edu 408-238-4273

Sr. Building Maintenance Worker

Elinor Gates egates@ucolick.org 408-238-9610 Staff Astronomer
Joe Halay jhalay@ucolick.org 408-238-9614 Facilities Manager
Erik Kovacs kovacs@ucolick.org 408-238-0652 Telescope Operations
Tina Kurth tkurth@ucsc.edu 408-238-9618 Visitor Services Coordinator
Paul Lynam plynam@ucolick.org 408-238-9617 Staff  Astronomer
Darlene Perez dperez@ucolick.org 408-238-9619 Administrative Assistant
Donald Redel dredel@ucolick.org 408-238-0652 Telescope Operations
Michele Redel mredel@ucsc.edu 408-238-0650 Safety / Water System 
Shawn Stone sdstone@ucsc.edu 408-238-0652 Telescope Technician
Connie Villicana cfvillic@ucsc.edu 408-238-4272 Senior Custodian
Pavl Zachary pzachary@ucolick.org 408-238-0652 Telescope Operations
top

See Also