People Directory

FACULTY
George R. Blumenthal george@ucolick.org 831-459-4291 Kerr Hall Chancellor
Michael J. Bolte bolte@ucolick.org 831-459-2384 ISB 333
Jean P. Brodie brodie@ucolick.org 831-459-2987 ISB 345
Jonathan Fortney jfortney@ucolick.org 831-502-7285 ISB 275  
Puragra (Raja) GuhaThakurta raja@ucolick.org 831-459-5169 ISB 271
Garth Illingworth gdi@ucolick.org 831-459-2843 ISB 267
Mark Krumholz krumholz@ucolick.org 831-459-1312 CfAO 109
Gregory Laughlin laughlin@ucolick.org 831-459-3208 ISB 279
Douglas N.C. Lin lin@ucolick.org 831-459-2732 ISB 337
Piero Madau pmadau@ucolick.org 831-459-3839 CfAO 103 Director-NEXSI
Claire Max max@ucolick.org 831-459-2049 CfAO 205 Interim Director, UCO, Director-CfAO
J. Xavier Prochaska xavier@ucolick.org 831-459-2135 ISB 359
Enrico Ramirez-Ruiz enrico@ucolick.org 831-459-3400 ISB 341 Department Chair, Director of TASC
Brant Robertson brant@ucsc.edu ISB 335
Constance Rockosi crockosi@ucolick.org 831-459-5246 ISB 261
Graeme H. Smith graeme@ucolick.org 831-459-2907 ISB 135
Steven S. Vogt vogt@ucolick.org 831-459-2151 ISB 343
Stanford E. Woosley woosley@ucolick.org 831-459-2976 ISB 259
top
EMERITUS FACULTY
Peter H. Bodenheimer peter@ucolick.org 831-459-2064 Thimann 335
Frank Drake fdrake@ucolick.org 650-961-6633 SETI Institute
Harland W. Epps epps@ucolick.org 831-459-3454 Nat Sci II 191
Sandra Faber faber@ucolick.org 831-459-2991 ISB 379
John Faulkner johnf@astro.ucsc.edu 831-459-3559 Thimann 331
Burt Jones jones@ucolick.org
David C. Koo koo@ucolick.org 831-459-2130 ISB 263
Robert Kraft kraft@ucolick.org 831-459-3281 ISB 123
Bruce H. Margon margon@ucsc.edu 831-459-1596 Nat Sci II 171
William G. Mathews mathews@ucolick.org 831-459-2074 Thimann 333
Joseph S. Miller miller@ucolick.org 831-459-3670 Eng Lab
Jerry Nelson jnelson@ucolick.org 831-459-5132 CfAO 215
Lloyd Robinson lloyd@ucolick.org
Merle Walker Thimann 331
top
LECTURERS
Martin Gaskell mgaskell@ucsc.edu 831-459-5078 Thimann 325
Adriane Steinacker asteinac@ucsc.edu 831-459-2790 ISB 157
top
AFFILIATED FACULTY
Anthony Aguirre aguirre@scipp.ucsc.edu 831-459-2249 ISB 325 Physics
Nic Brummell brummell@ams.ucsc.edu 831- 459-2122 Baskin 125 Applied Math
Pascale Garaud pgaraud@soe.ucsc.edu 831-459-1055 Baskin 131 Applied Math
Ian Garrick-Bethell igarrick@ucsc.edu 831-459-1277 EMS A137 EPS
Gary Glatzmaier glatz@es.ucsc.edu 831-459-5504 EMS A102 EPS
Francis Nimmo fnimmo@es.ucsc.edu 831-459-1783 EMS A219 EPS
Joel Primack joel@ucsc.edu 831-459-2580 ISB 318 Physics
Stefano Profumo profumo@scipp.ucsc.edu 831-459-3039 ISB 325 Physics
Steven Ritz ritz@scipp.ucsc.edu 831-459-3018 Nat Sci II 331 Director, SCIPP
David Smith dsmith@scipp.ucsc.edu 831-459-2183 Nat Sci II 321 Physics
top
RESEARCHERS
Shawfeng Dong dong@ucolick.org 831-459-2725 ISB 331
Donald Gavel gavel@ucolick.org 831-459-5464 CfAO 209 Director LAO
Martin Gaskell mgaskell@ucsc.edu

831-459-5078

Thimann 325
Robert Hanson hanson@ucolick.org 831-459-2755 NSII 175
Bradford Holden holden@ucolick.org 831-459-3387 ISB 115
Ben Johnson bjohnso6@ucsc.edu ISB 349
Arnold Klemola klemola@ucolick.org 831-459-4049 Nat Sci II 183
Robert Kibrick kibrick@ucolick.org 831-459-2262 Nat Sci II 160
Renate Kupke rkupke@ucolick.org 831-459-5804 Thimann 111B
Bruce Macintosh bmac@ucolick.org 831-459-5801 Thimann 111E
Terry Mast mast@ucolick.org 831-459-3807 CfAO 207
Drew Phillips phillips@ucolick.org 831-459-2476 ISB 121
Aaron Romanowsky romanow@ucolick.org 831-459-3281 ISB 123
Mingzhi Wei wmz@ucolick.org 831-459-4911 Nat Sci II 160
top
POSTDOCTORAL FELLOWS
Aldo Batta abattama@ucsc.edu ISB 349
Guillermo Barro Calvo gbarro@ucolick.org 831-459-3771 ISB 273
Ryan Cooke rcooke@ucolick.org 831-459-5853 ISB 367
Alis Deason alis@ucolick.org 831-459-3841 ISB 291
Yicheng Guo ycguo@ucolick.org 831-459-3771

ISB 273

Yasunori Hori yahori@ucsc.edu 831-459-3809 ISB 113
Michael Line mrline@ucolick.org 831-459-7085 ISB 119
Fengshan Liu fengshan@ucolick.org 831-502-7085 ISB 119 Visiting Researcher
Gabriela Montes gmontes@ucsc.edu 831-459-2526 ISB 349
Aldo Rodriguez arodr104@ucsc.edu 831-459-5098 ISB 363
Chalence Safranek-Shrader ctsafran@ucsc.edu 831-459-2896 CfAO 105
Nicolas Tejos ntejos@ucolick.org 831-459-5891 CfAO 113
Elisa Toloba toloba@ucolick.org 831-459-3809 ISB 111 Visiting Researcher
Jessica Werk jwerk@ucolick.org 831-459-3809 ISB 111
Sloane Wiktorowicz sloanew@ucolick.org 831- 502-7258 Nat Sci II 187
Xiaojia Zhang xzhang47@ucsc.edu 831-459-3809 ISB 113
top
GRADUATE STUDENTS
Justin Brown jumbrown@ucsc.edu 831-459-2774 ISB 159
Jennifer Burt jaburt@ucsc.edu 831-459-2774 ISB 159
Marie Calapa mcalapa@ucsc.edu
Emily Cunningham eccunnin@ucsc.edu 831-459-5722 ISB 255
Katherina Feng yfeng14@ucsc.edu
John Forbes jcforbes@ucsc.edu 831-459-2277 ISB 293
Eric Gentry egentry@ucsc.edu
Katherine Hamren khamren@ucsc.edu 831-459-1973 ISB 201
Tiffany Hsyu thsyu@ucsc.edu
Zachary Jennings zgjennin@ucsc.edu 831-459-5722 ISB 255
Marie Wingyee Lau wlau10@ucsc.edu 831-459-4485 ISB 355
Jamie Law-Smith jlawsmit@ucsc.edu 831-459-4485 ISB 355
Camille Leibler cleibler@ucsc.edu 831-459-5722 ISB 255
Elizabeth Lovegrove elovegro@ucsc.edu 831-459-3804 ISB 127
Phillilp Macias pmacias@ucsc.edu 831-459-4485 ISB 355
Morgan MacLeod memacleo@ucsc.edu 831-459-1973 ISB 201
Rosalie McGurk rmcgurk@ucolick.org 831-459-3068 CfAO 102
Christopher Mankovich cmankovi@ucsc.edu 831-459-4485 ISB 355
Caroline Morley cmorley@ucsc.edu 831-459-2774 ISB 159
Sarah Mullholland smillhol@ucsc.edu
Ariadna Murguia Berthier armurgui@ucsc.edu

Diana Powell

dkpowell@ucsc.edu 831-459-4485 ISB 355

Anna Rosen

rosen@ucolick.org 831 459-3979 ISB 133
Alexander Rudy arrudy@ucsc.edu 831-459-4485 ISB 355
Srikar Srinath ssrinath@ucsc.edu 831-459-3068 CfAO 102
Tuguldur Sukhbold tsukhbol@ucsc.edu 831-459-4885 Nat Sci II 185
Alexa Villaume avillaum@ucsc.edu
Asher Wasserman adwasser@ucsc.edu
Hassen Yesuf hyesuf@ucolick.org 831-459-2277 ISB 293
top
ISEE   
Institute for Science & Engineer Educators
Lisa Hunter lhunter@ucsc.edu 831-459-2416 CfAO 213 Director
Beth Walker
walker@ucolick.org 831-459-2676 CfAO 203 Program Manager
top
ASTRONOMY & ASTROPHYSICS  ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF
Jenna Scarpelli jscar@ucsc.edu 831-459-3581 ISB 287 Department Manager
Maria Sliwinski msliwinski@ucsc.edu 831-459-2844 ISB 211 Grad Student Adviser

top

UCO ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF
Lisa Ellis lisa@ucolick.org 831-459-5165 ISB 154 Financial Services, Contracts & Grants
Anna Korossy akorossy@ucolick.org 831-459-5044 ISB 387 Asst Director of Business Svcs - UCO
Hilary Lebow lebow@ucolick.org 831-4593455 Communications Specialist - UCO
Betsy Lee betsy@ucolick.org 831-459-4756 ISB 390 Business Services, FoLO Coordinator
Gill Lucier gill@ucolick.org 831-459-4614 ISB 390 Financial Services
Leah Martin lmartin@ucolick.org 831-459-5164 ISB 393 Financial Services
Camille Martinez camille@ucolick.org 831-459-2772 ISB 390 Business Services
Maerian Morris maerian@ucolick.org 831-459-2201 ISB 376 Principal Budget Analyst
TBD 831-459-2991 ISB 375 UCO Executive Assistant
top
COMPUTER & PROGRAMMING
Steven Allen sla@ucolick.org 831-459-3046 NatSci II 165
Will Deich will@ucolick.org 831-459-3913 NatSci II 163 Scientific Progamming/IT Mgr
Kyle Lanclos lanclos@ucolick.org 831-459-5760 NatSci II 167
Daniel Magee magee@ucolick.org 831-459-5276 ISB 369
Rion Parsons rparsons@ucolick.org 831-459-4020 NatSci II 179 Systems Administrator
Charles Sanger csanger@ucolick.org 831-459-5050 NatSci II 177 Systems Administrator
top

LAB & Engineering Staff

Jerry Cabak cabak@ucolick.org 831-459-5892 Eng Lab
David Cowley cowley@ucolick.org 831-459-2475 Eng Lab Technical Facilities & Project Mgr
Daren Dillon dillon@ucolick.org 831-459-1257 Thimann 105D
Brian Dupraw dupraw@ucolick.org 831-459-2841 Opt Lab
David Hilyard hilyard@ucolick.org 831-459-3269 Opt Lab
Michael Peck mpeck@ucolick.org 831-459-3184 Eng Lab 251
Terry Pfister terry@ucolick.org 831-459-2624 Instr Lab
Matthew Radovan mvr@ucolick.org 831-459-2557

Nat Sci II 169

Chris Ratliff cratliff@ucolick.org 831-459-1502 Eng Lab
Dale Sandford sandford@ucolick.org 831-459-2139 Nat Sci II 159
James Ward jward@ucolick.org 831-459-2624 Instr Lab
top
GENERAL NUMBERS
Astronomy Department Office dept@astro.ucsc.edu 831-459-2844 ISB 211
Astronomy Department Fax 831-459-5625 ISB 211
Astronomy/UCO Lick Mail Room Fax 831 426-3115 ISB 260
Center for Adaptive Optics 831-459-2844 CfAO 201
ISB 102 Conference Room 831-459-3658 ISB 102
LAO Lab 831-459-5281 Thimann 185/191
Lick Observatory Administration Office 408-238-9619    Mt. Hamilton, CA
Lick Observatory Fax 408-238-0757 Mt. Hamilton, CA
UCO/Lick Business Office 831-459-2513 ISB 390
UCO/Lick Director's Office 831-459-2991 ISB 375
UCO/Lick Director's Office Fax 831-459-5244 ISB 375
UCO/Lick Mailroom Fax 831 426-3115 ISB 260
top
VISITORS & OTHER
Visitors Office Calendar Link
Main Visitors Office 831-459-4903 ISB 335
top
LICK OBSERVATORY STAFF
Sean Carter semcarte@ucsc.edu 408-238-4273 Building Maintenance Worker
Kostas Chloros kostas@ucolick.org 408-238-9613 Observatory Superintendent
Wayne Earthman wayne@ucolick.org 408-238-0652    Telescope Operations
Rocky Francisco rsfranci@ucsc.edu 408-238-4273

Sr. Building Maintenance Worker

Elinor Gates egates@ucolick.org 408-238-9610 Staff Astronomer
Joe Halay jhalay@ucolick.org 408-238-9614 Facilities Manager
Randall Herskorn rherskor@ucolick.org 408-238-4272 Senior Custodian
Erik Kovacs kovacs@ucolick.org 408-238-0652 Telescope Operations
Tina Kurth tkurth@ucsc.edu 408-238-9618 Visitor Services Coordinator
Paul Lynam plynam@ucolick.org 408-238-9617 Staff  Astronomer
Darlene Perez dperez@ucolick.org 408-238-9619 Administrative Assistant
Donald Redel dredel@ucolick.org 408-238-0652 Telescope Operations
Michele Redel mredel@ucsc.edu 408-238-0650 Safety / Water System 
Shawn Stone sdstone@ucsc.edu 408-238-0652 Telescope Technician
Connie Villicana cfvillic@ucsc.edu 408-238-4272 Senior Custodian
Pavl Zachary pzachary@ucolick.org 408-238-0652 Telescope Operations
top

See Also